Why Do I Feel Uncomfortable with BDSM?

Things That Make Me Uncomfortable About BDSM

A large part of my research into the various types of BDSM was largely to confront my own feelings on them. By doing so I feel that I’ve managed to identify the areas that made me nervous and begin in my efforts to discover why, and if I can do anything to see them in a positive light. As this is an ongoing process be aware that I do still have some negative views together some elements of BDSM and while these opinions may seem unfair, the whole point of this blog is pinpointing the reasons for these negative views so that they may be overcome. Feel free to fight your corner and leave comments, I’d love to hear everybody’s viewpoint, however distant it may be from others’ and my own.

So what is it that makes me uncomfortable about BDSM? I’d say seven key points, so actually quite a lot of the aspects of BDSM. While looking at them as categories it may seem that it’s just the whole thing that I feel negatively towards, it’s actually very specific things. The seven points are:

  1. Humiliation
  2. Punishment
  3. Power Play
  4. Pain
  5. 24/7 Slavery
  6. Pushing Limits
  7. Sub-Drop (/Top-Drop)

 

While this does seem to span a great deal, it is quite specific irks I have with each of them. Some bother me more than others, and I feel that some will need more work on them than others if I wanted to overcome my negative perceptions of them. I did previously put every point in one huge post – but it really was huge, so I’m going to post them separately for the sake of readability. So, let’s get analysing!

 

Tags: , , ,

About buhocurioso

I'm someone with little experience with sex or BDSM, however I would like to explore these areas and try to overcome any negative feelings I have towards them. I want to be comfortable with my own skin and also understand what different aspects in these areas mean to others.

Leave a Reply

